“Freebird” is 9 Minutes and 6 Seconds Long

free_bird

 

So I’ve been training pretty hard at the Box as well as running three days a week the past two months. A few weeks ago I woke up in the middle of the night with muscle pain, shuffled out of bed to get a big Advil, which kicked in almost immediately and  I promptly fell into a very deep sleep. I woke up at 11 the next day, a Box day and decided that it wasn’t merely chance that I’d missed the morning WODs. Maybe I needed an extra rest day. I definitely needed an extra rest day. Since then I’ve been training two days a week at the Box and running with my 5K app on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday. I’m not waking up in the middle of the night with pain anymore and my attitude at the Box has improved. I no longer climb the friggin’ stairs thinking “What fresh hell awaits?”. These days I’m thinking, “Let’s see what I can do today.”

Last week I could manage a sustained running pace for 6 minutes. Today I walked 5 minutes, ran 10, walked 5, ran 10, walked 5 to cool down. I was listening to my Southern Rock playlist and “Freebird” came up when I started my second run. That sucker is 9 minutes and 6 seconds long! By the time the fabulous guitar solo was played out, I was feeling ready to go another 9 minutes but seriously grateful when my app dinged that it was time to cool down. No sense risking a charleyhorse out in the middle of nowhere. I sang along to “Willin” walking home. No birds died.

This training formula works for me. I’ve been making gains:

People I haven’t seen in a while have commented on my weight-loss.

Last week I did Sallys with a barbell!

I’ve done 10 double-unders in a row!

Our coach remarked that he could see I’d been working on the running goat! This made my year.

Leave a comment