The Wind Cries…Mary

Mary

 

Yesterday morning I was back in the box after a week’s hiatus. My favorite relative, Auntie Flo came to visit and well, no, I don’t Crossfit when Auntie Flo is in town. You have to draw a line somewhere.

FLO

Of course I didn’t check Facebook to see what Coach Marc had in store for us, best not to sneak preview after a number of days off, head on into the unknown and the unknowable, that’s the ticket.

Mary

When the coach draws a smiley and the word FUN! next to the warming up, you start getting suspicious. This one involved all of us standing in two lines, facing one another with a kettlebell at our feet. The idea is to toss a medicine ball back and forth to try to knock over your opposite’s kettlebell. If you don’t knock it over, you get to do burpees. I stink at this. Judith, my opposite does not. I was well warmed up for the WOD.

Which turned out to be Mary…

But first we needed to do some skill work on our pistol squats

 

I immediately started miemeling (it was hormones) about grabbing a low bench instead of the 20” box because at 5’2” , I don’t have far to squat before my butt hits the edge of the box and the low bench is more of a challenge. I was told (very nicely) to chill out and listen. So I did. Coach had a new twist to the pistol squat progression in store for us. The standing box pistol squat. Yes. It is as tough as it sounds.

Pistol Squat Progression

(Some cool stuff in this link– check it out)

Along came Marii-eeeee

WOD: Mary

20 min Amrap of:
5 HSPU
10 Pistols Alternating
15 Pull-ups

For So I opted for the A push-ups which I couldn’t do in September. For the record, I can do a few handstand pushups, but not consistently enough for this WOD. I went with the touch and go variation on the pistol squats and believe it or not, hanging pull-ups. Yes, they are coming along nicely.

8 Rounds + 9, not Rx, but pretty damn good.

barbie hand

 

When I woke up today, my hands were frozen like Barbie’s, my thighs felt like concrete, and getting out of the turtle position took some doing, but I got vertical eventually. Coffee is a wonder-drink, so now I’m able to sit, type and think all at the same time! I’m scrubbing today’s run and rescheduling for tomorrow. A nice, gentle walk with the big dawg is about all I can handle at the moment.

(Yes, Jimi Hendrix’s original is better, but the videos were crappy. Gary is better than John Mayer.)

One response

  1. Take the slow walk! Best wishes for Christmas and 2016. Regards from Tampa (where it is still 80 degrees!)

    Like

Leave a comment